Mango Citrus + Strawberry Watermelon Smoothies // Changes Are Afoot

strawberry watermelon smoothie

I made some big changes to my diet recently. I stopped eating dairy. I filled up my meals with fruits and vegetables. I cut down on the starchy, carb-y, flour-based things that used to make up most of my meals. I added some whole grains, and swapped out refined sugars for honey.  I don’t spend any more time cooking than I used to, but I feel so much better. More energetic. Happier, knowing that I’m only putting the very best into my body. These simple changes have made my life a whole lot better. It’s only fair that my blog reflects those changes— from here on out, the recipes featured on here will be fresher, brighter, and lighter. It’s not that there will never be another oozy, gooey, cheesy dish on here, or that the cake recipes will all have to go. I still eat those things on occasion, and I will continue posting them. But the majority of dishes will be the healthier fare that I eat daily.

strawberries and watermelon in blender

strawberry watermelon smoothie in a jar

I’ll be making some changes to the appearance of my blog as well. The old theme has been traded for one that feels a little sleeker, with a crisp white background, larger text, and bigger pictures. In a couple of weeks, you can expect brighter and more lively photos, too. I’ve been meaning to escape the moody afternoon light of my kitchen windows, and now seems like a better time than ever.

banana and mango in blender

One more big change that I’m excited about has nothing to do with food and everything to do with timing— a posting schedule. I’ve been using this blog on and off since I started it, posting the odd recipe here or there. What I’d like to do is create quality content regularly. That means more regular posts, and well-thought-out recipes. Once (and often twice) a week, you’ll find a new recipe inspired by the season, featuring fresh produce found at the local market.
fresh squeezed orange juice
These summertime smoothies seemed like a good place to start changing things up. Each one combines two beloved flavors to create something worth sipping on, something sweet and refreshing and healthy. These smoothies are almost too simple to warrant a recipe, but they’re also too good not to share.
mango citrus smoothie in a jar
Mango Citrus Smoothie
makes 1 extra large smoothies, or 2 smaller servings
Ingredients
1 large mango, peeled and cut into chunks
1 sliced banana (optional, for creaminess)
2 oranges
ice (optional)
Instructions
1. Halve the oranges and squeeze the juice into a cup ow bowl. Squeeze out as much of the juice as possible, crushing the orange peel in the process to release flavors. Use a spoon to remove and discard seeds.
2. Place the mango and banana chunks in a blender. Pour in orange juice. Cover and blend, adding a little cold water if needed.
3. Once the smoothie has been blended completely, add a handful of ice and blend until smooth. Serve immediately.
Strawberry Watermelon Smoothie
makes 1 extra large smoothies, or 2 smaller servings
Ingredients
2 cups halved strawberries, stems removed
2 cups seedless watermelon, diced
1/4 cup ice cold water
ice (optional)
Instructions
1. Place strawberries, watermelon, and water in a blender. Cover and blend to form a puree.
2. Add a handful of ice and blend until smooth. Serve immediately.
Note: Both smoothies can be made ahead of time. Prepare smoothies without ice and place them in an airtight jar or container. Store in the refrigerator or with an ice pack for up to 3 hours. Flavor will deteriorate slightly over time, so serve as soon as possible after blending. 
One thought on “Mango Citrus + Strawberry Watermelon Smoothies // Changes Are Afoot

  1. Pingback: Healthier Eggplant Parmagiana | Kitchen In The Hills

Leave a Reply

